Continuing our collection of interesting side projects by creatives, we spoke to copywriter, blogger and author Ben Kay about inspiration, motivation, and tap water.

Water Water Everywhere seeks to make tap water freely available to as many people as possible. Bottled water is a massive unnecessary strain on the environment, and by making tap water widely available, everyone gets the water they need for a fraction of the cost to themselves and the planet.

The Water Water Everywhere app shows you thousands of locations around the UK where you can ask for free tap water. Simple and effective. Let’s hear how Ben got round to making it a reality…

CC: Where did the idea come from?

BK: I do a kind of life education course called Landmark. One of the courses they offer gives you the chance to take on a project that helps a community (friends, neighbours, cancer victims etc.). I chose to do a project for the world. Initially I wanted to sell water that was bottled locally, setting up plants to purify tap water in each postcode, then I realised what an enormous ball-ache that would be. Then I tried various ways to bring water fountains back to Britain’s parks; also more complicated than I imagined. So this was next. The course costs about £150 and you get a dedicated coach for 3-4 months. It was amazing. I’d recommend it to anyone and frequently do.

CC: So what made you decide to actually make it?

BK: I decided to make it happen because we live in a world that doesn’t work. Most of us get by OK, but I think it would be better if we made the world a better place to live in. What could we do to stop litter, violence, disease? Lots of things, but it helps to have some help and motivation. I chose an app because I was looking to trigger the tipping point that recycling and carrier bags reached in the last 5-10 years. I haven’t got there yet but I haven’t given up either.

CC: How important is it for creatives to have side projects?

BK: I think it’s important to do what moves you. If that need is served entirely by your day job then why have a side project? But I think it’s fair to say that most people don’t get 100% fulfilment on the job, so by all means get going on something else. I’ve also written a novel and I write a blog and assist at Landmark. Along with my family and job, that’s most of my time filled, although I also enjoy watching Fashion Police on the E Channel.

You can download the Water Water Everywhere app in the App Store. And Ben’s novel, Instinct, is available now at Amazon in both paperback and Kindle editions.

If you have a side project you’d like to tell us about, drop us a line at blog@creativecircle.co.uk

